AIGA Toledo “Rock Paper Sizzle”

by alexander johnny

This past weekend an event took place back in Toledo, OH that AIGA Toledo put on called “Rock, Paper, Sizzle.” It was a show in tribute to the art form of a record album. Artists were invited to contribute by recreating an existing album cover or in my case, I basically made up my own. All of the original album covers were then framed in an album frame and hung for the show. I am still waiting for event photos to be posted but the art below should entertain you in the meantime.

The quote used for the show’s intro:

“The size, shape, smell, texture and sound of a vinyl record; how do you explain to that teenager who doesn’t know that it’s a more beautiful musical experience than a mouse click? You put the record in their hands. You make them drop the needle on the platter. Then they’ll know.” – Jack White

I went ahead and included some of the pieces with qualities or styles that I enjoyed or who’s unique style was very inspiring to me, not because of the band or musician whose album was redone. Take a look at the pieces below and you can view the entire set here.

Chelsea_Irons1-1024x1024
Janis Joplin – Pearl
by Chelsea Irons

Eryn_Pierce-1024x1024
Tegan & Sara – Heartthrob
by Eryn Pierce

Phoebe_Ballard
Guided by Voices – Instructions to the Rusty Time Machine
by Phoebe Ballard

Sarah_Byer-1024x1024
Skillet – Rise
by Sarah Byer

Unknown-11-1024x1024
Lana Del Rey – Young and Beautiful
by Sara Blease

Alex_Beat-1024x1024

The City in Living and Dying ColorThe last two were done by yours truly. The image in color is the final product and below is my original transfer file that was placed over a used record album I got at Goodwill in the final piece.  Enjoy. Feel free to view the photos at my Behance profile too.

Thanks for checking this out.

Peace and love. If you have your own artist portfolio started online or are working on anything, I would love to see it. Send me your links and I will be sure to stop by and check them out.

Alexander Johnny

