Forget the penny. I’d gladly give a dime for her thoughts.

by alexander johnny

My posts have become a bit more scarce in the recent days. Not only on here but within my journal. This is an internal battle for me because every time I put off writing and do not do it, I miss out on that opportunity to share my thoughts and experiences. In order to redeem myself and break this lull of non-existent writing, I thought I’d send out a kudos to someone.

I’ve recently, in the past couple of weeks, become acquainted with a very inspiring and intelligent individual. Dyan. She was another reader, across the ocean of other bloggers, who happened across my pages, of all others. She has become a friend to me through the few talks we’ve had. Her writings and coaching are an amazing quality she uses to help others. She speaks of finding dimes in her post, and how they’re like signs throughout the day. The original blog post is here.

“What I’ve learned from finding the dimes is that if we follow those little ideas, signposts, feelings and inspirations that flow through our lives – they can lead us to amazing places. And they are great reminders to take a moment and a breath.” – Dyan

It’s in noticing and beholding those little things, that we can start to piece together a sort of path of our own. A path of happy existence, as opposed to constantly wanting this and needing that. The past couple of weeks have been without a doubt, some of the most mysterious, trying, and difficult on the both of us brothers. It seemed as if these times were causing a tension that was not necessary or comfortable. As soon as I take a step back from all of this worry over trivial matters though, and just take a look at the little things in life that matter most, I find that tension melting away. Innocence, joy, happiness. Forget weighing, judging, who’s ahead of whom in this life, trying to make sure the score’s even for everyone and that you’re getting your “just desserts.”

I seem to get drawn into these behaviors a lot so it’s up to me to remind myself to follow those little signposts and markers. I’m not sure our species is in a constant state of competition, or the fact that there’s always someone we feel we need to one up or be better than. Perhaps we were simply misled from the start. A game of survival turned into a game of screw over your neighbor so you can have the most money, the most food, the most whatever. Maybe my life is here to create a rift in that state of being for others to take notice. Do not think I hold myself above others from my previous statement though, since I know I fall into these competitive and irresponsible behaviors the same as the rest of our species, but I feel that we are wrong. I feel that there should be a peace, not a constant state of jealousy, judgement and ruin. So here I am, back on the writing gig after a couple of weeks trying to catch my breath from a constant state of motion, and spotting my own signposts to follow wherever I can. I feel this is all something we can do a little more of, and offer up our own lessons learned as a way of helping others. Not necessarily by preaching it to their faces, because that surely will not get them to listen, but instead, go out and make an example. Show a different way.

I speak of this now, from Denver where our travels have landed us several times before. It seems the mountainous land and crisp air in this mile-high city have got a hold on us, and we will stay to explore it further. I will make it back to California someday soon. I don’t consider this an end of any traveling, but merely a stepping stone as we grow in this city and prepare to move on again. I hope you will continue to follow us as we make our mark on this city and the next.

Thanks so much to you, Dyan. Follow your “dimes” as I look out for my own. Thank you for the mention on your original blog post as well and keep in touch. To everyone else, I am pressing forward with this writing in hopes I can continue to provide you with what you want to learn. If you have any thoughts or comments on your mind, or even a question about goings-on in your own lives, I am an open ear and a soul with a beating heart just like yours. Please get a hold of me and I’d be happy to talk.

Lastly, let me leave you with this quote from an author who I’m sure you’ve heard of if you follow my posts, but if not, I urge you to look into.

“Give up waiting as a state of mind. When you catch yourself slipping into waiting…snap out of it. Come into the present moment. Just be and enjoy being.” – Eckhart Tolle.

 

